Definition: AIDAS

AIDAS is a variation of the original AIDA model, which is known as one of the hierarchy of effects models. AIDAS stands for Attention, Interest, Desire, Action, and Satisfaction, which are the five different stages a prospect goes through in the process of purchasing a product.

Using AIDAS, marketers and sellers can lead a customer through the stages effectively to maximize the overall objective of their marketing or advertising campaign.


Who created the AIDA Model?

The AIDA model was created in 1898 by E. St. Elmo Lewis, an American businessman. The main purpose of AIDA was to explain how personal selling works, especially in the interaction between seller and buyer concerning the product. Lewis’ theoretical explanations of advertising theory are based on extensive experience as he was marketing head and advisor at various companies and organizations involved in the advertising measures concepts and campaigns.

He has shared his knowledge across US universities in various forms of publications. After more than 100 years since its first appearance, his legacy AIDA model is still widely used, for example in digital marketing.


How to Apply AIDAS Model?

The AIDAS model helps to explain how consumers’ brand choices are affected by advertising or marketing communication messages. Understanding each stage of the AIDAS principle thoroughly will help you strategize your marketing campaign effectively and achieve optimal results. Here’s how you can implement AIDAS:

1.   Attention

In this first stage, it is important to make prospects aware of your products or services. By effectively getting content in front of your target consumers in your brand awareness campaign, you will be able to attract their attention and have them curious about your products or services.

Digital Marketing is one method of attracting consumers to your brand. This includes attracting consumers via email, content marketing, search platforms, social media, and more. Using digital marketing, you can cost-effectively and measurably reach an enormous audience.

2.   Interest

This stage is all about holding your audience’s attention. When consumers are interested in products or services, they will want to learn more about the brand being advertised. In order to effectively generate interest, it is important that you understand your buyer persona and strategically create contents that deliver persuasive and engaging messages.

3.   Desire

Once consumers are interested in the product or service, it is important that you help them realize why they need it. It is necessary to do some research to find out why customers buy and use the research to clarify and increase the desire to meet needs. Some powerful mediums that create an emotional connection and call for desires are messages and images.

4.   Action

The next step in this model is to give your audience the chance to act on the product or service. In digital marketing, this is called a Call-To-Action (CTA) – a sentence or statement that is designed to get the audience to do something. It is important to place CTAs where consumers expect to find or can easily connect across emails, websites, landing pages, and so on. One commonly used method is to create a sense of urgency that makes consumers feel the need to take action right away, such as “Limited Time Offers”, “Ends Today”, “This Week Only”, and so on.

5.   Satisfaction

This is an additional stage that has expanded AIDA to AIDAS, making the overall success of any advertising campaign. In this stage, it is important to retain customer loyalty after the purchase decision through multi-channel customer support, after-sales service, and so on.


Variations of AIDAS

There are multiple variations of AIDAS, however, they are based on the same principle that a prospect goes through different stages in the process of purchasing a product. Some of the most popular variations of AIDAS are:

  1. AIDA (Attention, Interest, Desire, and Action) model
  2. AIDCA (Attention, Interest, Desire, Conviction, and Action) model
  3. AIDEA (Attention, Interest, Desire, Evidence, and Action) model
  4. REAN (Reach, Engage, Activate, and Nurture) model
  5. NAITDASE (Need, Attention, and Interest; Trust, Design, and Action; Satisfaction and Evaluation) model.



AIDAS Definition

Glossary Index

About Tiffany Liem

Tiffany Liem is a digital marketing specialist who creates effective digital marketing strategies that help businesses find new customers. She graduated from Southern Methodist University with an MS in Management and BBA in Marketing.